Paleo Turkey Chili


I was nervous when I started the Whole30 Paleo diet because of ingredients I’ve never used before. The only time I’ve ever used coconut oil was when I was pregnant and it was to prevent stretch marks! I love Trader Joe’s because they have a great selection of fresh and organic foods that are more affordable than most groceries. When I went shopping for the Whole30, I didn’t have specific recipes in mind and figured I’d wing it. Again, I like to emphasize how much I enjoy making soups and chili, so putting this recipe together was a no-brainer. I was thoroughly surprised by how flavorful and delicious this chili came out to be. My toddler and husband ate it willingly and happily which was a plus for our first Paleo meal. Enjoy!

Paleo Chili

Paleo Turkey Chili

Ingredients:

  • Grass fed 1-lb Ground Turkey
  • 1 cup organic butternut squash – cubed
  • 1 cup organic rainbow carrots – diced
  • 1 organic Leek stalk – diced
  • 1/2 small onion – chopped
  • 2 organic roma tomatoes – chopped
  • 1 cup organic Tuscan Kale – chopped
  • 1 tbs cumin powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tbs chili powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 4 cups of water (or stock of choice)
  • 2 tbs coconut oil
  • Chopped scallions for garnish

Directions:

  1. In a Dutch oven on medium high heat (I like to make soups and stews in mine), add coconut oil and sauté turkey until lightly brown. Add a dash of salt and pepper.
  2. Throw in all the vegetables minus the tomatoes starting with onions, leeks, and then carrots and squash. Once mixed add in spices. Stir frequently and well.
  3. Add in tomatoes and water. Stir and deglaze and wait for it to boil. Once it boils, turn it to low and cover for 1 hr. Occasionally lift lid and stir the chili.
  4. Add salt and pepper to taste and top with scallions for garnish.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Paleo Turkey Chili

  1. Pingback: Whole30 Paleo Diet | How did you make that, Amy?

Leave a Reply

